The search for the University of Iowa's next president will be open and community-driven. 

We're selecting a candidate as a campus. The members of the search committee represent the many diverse functions of our dynamic institution, and represent the voice and perspective of the campus community.  

How the process works

Two groups will play vital, complementary roles in the search for our next president. 

Board of Regents

One of the most important roles of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa, is the selection of institutional heads for each of our state’s public universities. The authority to hire presidents is granted to the Board by state law.

The Board's executive director, in collaboration with the search committee co-chairs, has selected AGB Search as our search partner to assist in the search process, establish a search committee, and create a timetable for the selection process. 

Search committee

The search committee, working with the search partner, will be responsible for identifying candidates and selecting finalists to be presented to the Board. Those finalists will be reviewed by the Board of Regents, who will select and hire the next president from that group of finalists. The committee is comprised of University of Iowa faculty, staff, students, alumnus, and members of the Board of Regents.

Full search process

Learn more about the presidential search process in this full overview of best practices.

Search committee members

If you have questions for the committee, please email

Sandra Daack-Hirsch

Sandy Daack-Hirsch

Associate professor, and interim executive associate dean of the College of Nursing, committee co-chair
John Keller

John Keller

Associate provost, and dean of the Graduate College, committee co-chair
Sue Beckwith

P. Sue Beckwith

Nancy Boettger

Nancy Boettger

Board of Regents, State of Iowa
David Cunning

David Cunning

Professor of philosophy and department chair, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Anjali Deshpande

Anjali Deshpande

Clinical associate professor of epidemiology, College of Public Health
Armando Duarte

Armando Duarte

Professor of dance and director of the bachelor of fine arts program, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences
Frauenholz, Richard

Richard Frauenholz

President, AFSCME Local 12
Cathy Glasson

Cathy Glasson

President, SEIU Local 199
Mackensie Graham

Mackensie Graham

President, graduate and professional student government
Grosland, Nicole

Nicole Grosland

Professor of biomedical engineering, College of Engineering, and faculty athletics representative
Hegarty, Kay

Kay Hegarty

Associate professor of practice in accounting, Tippie College of Business
Jim Lindenmayer

Jim Lindenmayer

Board of Regents, State of Iowa
Marshall, Teresa

Teresa Marshall

Professor and Michael W. Finkelstein Centennial Professor of Teaching, College of Dentistry, and vice president, Faculty Senate
Mineart, Heather

Heather Mineart

President, Staff Council
John Piegors

John Piegors

President, Graduate Student Senate and member of COGS/UE Local 896
Salem, Aliasger

Ali Salem

Professor of pharmaceutical sciences and Lyle and Sharon Bighley Endowed Chair, College of Pharmacy
Liz Tovar

Liz Tovar

Interim associate vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion
Van Daele, Doug

Doug Van Daele

Professor of otolaryngology, executive director of UI physicians, and vice dean of clinical affairs, Carver College of Medicine
Connor Wooff

Connor Wooff

President, Undergraduate Student Government
Joseph Yockey

Joseph Yockey

Professor and Michael and Brenda Sandler Faculty Fellow in Corporate Law, College of Law, and president of Faculty Senate

Michael J. Richards
President, Board of Regents, State of Iowa

Mark Braun
Executive director, Board of Regents, State of Iowa

Rachel Boon
Chief academic officer, Board of Regents, State of Iowa

Engage with the process

You will have multiple opportunities to engage with the search as it progresses.

You can sit in on regular meetings of the search committee, which will be live streamed on the Board of Regents website. Times and dates of meetings will be announced here.

The university will host listening sessions for faculty, staff, and students to provide input as the search committee creates a position description for the next president. The listening session times and dates can be found here. Additionally, the committee will gather input from other constituencies including UI leadership, local community leaders, and alumni.   

When finalists are named and are invited to campus, you will have the opportunity to participate in each candidate’s open forum. A schedule for open forums is now available.

Share Feedback

Provide feedback on the candidates to the search committee.